NACE Holiday Casual Networking

On Tuesday, I went to the San Jose Hilton for a casual holiday networking party with the Silicon Valley Chapter of the National Association of Catering Executives (NACE) meeting. When I first entered the room I was struck by how beautiful and dark it was. While I took many shots using flash to modify the room and human subjects later, at first I tried to capture the room just as it was.

The photos, which show the beauty of the green and pink adding to the holiday tone, have more grain then I’m used to having in my photos. Still, they have interesting glow and mood in them.

Having more of a light source, the beautiful candles, this one had a bit less grain.

So after the tone shots were done, it was time to put the flash to work to capture some other colors including skin tones.

Robbie Schlosser of The Magnolia Jazz Band and Mel Gilman of Mel’s Catering By George!, started the evening off right by toasting the soon to be arriving new year with white wine.

The cocktail food was just incredible. I liked how the cheese platter with its purple orchids almost matched my frame/business color.

My mother, who has baked some great Christmas cookies over the years, would call these almost too pretty to eat. Almost is right, they were delicious.

Virginia Santa Ines, Director of Catering, at the San Jose Hilton, and Greg Casella, a national NACE Officer and Owner of Catered Too, enjoyed an animated conversation.

I’m not sure what the joke was, yet Greg and Patrick Duffek of Headliner Promotions, were laughing quite a bit in the corner.

Leslie Butlar enjoyed sitting down with Patrick to look through his portfolio book of satisfied customers.

The end of the evening was my favorite part. Eventually everyone crowded in to one big table and shared favorite stories of clients with lots of good cheer going around. It was a pleasure to see Tony White, of the Ritz Carlton in Half Moon Bay, again, his hilarious stories were one of the big hits of the evening.

Leave a comment

Filed under NACE

Leave a comment