My Prehistoric Restaurant Experience

One great aspect of my trip to Orlando was a chance to meet two more runners, one of whom I’ve known online for a long time, Petra. She and I jokingly refer to each other as cousins, and online sisters and in one time she even sent me a card addressed to “My best friend I’ve never met”. Petra, and her husband, Scott, wanted to eat at Downtown Disney. We both thought it would be easy to meet, get on a bus Downtown Disney (a restaurant and shopping center) and meet. We decided to meet at T-Rex named for the Tyranosaurus Rex dinosaur. 

At 12:30 Petra called and we both thought we could get quickly there from our then current locations, I at the Shades of Green hotel, and she and Scott from Wide World of Sports where they were picking up their race packets. It turns out we all were given misinformation on which buses went where, all had to go back to Disney resorts and start over and arrived more or less at the place an hour later, very hungry. 

Both the outside and inside have many T-Rex dinosaurs, one large one roared at intermittent times. 

While underneath him (her?) there was a stagnant baby Rex. 

As many centuries are represented in prehistoric times, the restaurant has red areas (representing the arid times) and blue areas (representing the Ice Ages. 

I took so many pictures that soon Scott was asking if I always took so many photos or was it just the restaurant that was inspiring me. As I was starting to answer, Petra answered for me that as a photographer, yes, I am always taking photos. 

The decor was unbelievable intricate and beautiful. 

This undersea kingdom of lights was both beautiful and a bit frightening to behold. I was actually glad we were put in the Ice Age section where a small wooly mammoth by our table while jerky and noisy, wasn’t even a little scary. 

Finally I had Scott take a photo of my friend and I. Though I can’t make us look like prehistoric creatures, I can make our photo look like it might have been published in a newspaper printed long long ago, so here is a black and white version of Danielle and Petra, having met in person at last. 

1 Comment

Filed under personal

One response to “My Prehistoric Restaurant Experience

  1. Bri

    So cool!! Im JEALOUS!! Now we need to meet..

Leave a comment